SQUILT Music Appreciation is a simple, affordable music appreciation curriculum.

 What is SQUILT?  

  Quite simply, it is an easy, effective, and quick way to put music study into your homeschool!

Super Quiet UnInterrupted Listening Time 

SQUILT helps your children learn about beautiful music, and also helps reinforce the habit of attention. 

These free lessons are snippets of what appears in my SQUILT Music Appreciation Curriculum

SQUILT Music Appreciation (Musical Eras Series) is currently for sale. It is designed to take listeners through the 4 major time period of music. 

Baroque Era (1600-1750)

Classical Era (1750-1820)

Romantic Era (1820-1900) 

Modern Era (1900-present)


SQUILT Spotlights are smaller SQUILT volumes that focus on a particular composer. They are great for those who just want to study one composer at a time, go in depth with that composer's life, time, and works.  


The SQUILT curriculum is designed to assist the parent who has little or no knowledge of music teach their children the great musical classics. I have done ALL OF THE WORK FOR YOU! Each volume contains 10 lessons with printables, listening links, notebooking pages, and much more. Visit the SQUILT website to learn more!

Each SQUILT lesson hinges on the student's understanding of the grammar of music. The SQUILT notebooking page helps guide them through learning about the essential elements of music: Dynamics, Rhythm & Tempo, Instrumentation, and Mood. 

Lesson 1:

J.S. Bach - Brandenburg Concerto No. 2, Movement 1

Lesson 2:

Benny Goodman - Sing, Sing, Sing

Lesson 3:

Richard Strauss - Also sprach Zarathustra

Lesson 4:

Aaron Copland:  Hoe Down from Rodeo

Lesson 5:

Edvard Grieg:  In The Hall of the Mountain King (Halloween Lesson)


Chopin's Minute Waltz

To purchase a volume and learn more, visit SQUILT Music.